The Work & Legacy of Douglas Davis

A talk with David A. Ross

Friday, April 21 at 6pm

Free; reservations recommended

A talk with David A. Ross (former director of San Francisco Museum of Modern Art, the Whitney Museum, and ICA Boston, and now Chair of MFA: Art Practice at School of Visual Art in NYC)

About Davis A. Ross:

David A. Ross has a 40-year career as an art museum professional and educator. He is currently the Chair of the MFA Art Practice program at the School of Visual Arts in New York City. His career began as the first curator of video art, Everson Museum of Art (1971-1974); deputy director, curator of video art, Long Beach Museum of Art (1974-1977); and associate director, chief curator, University Art Museum, Berkeley (1977-1981).  

Ross became the director of the Institute of Contemporary Art in Boston in 1982, followed by seven years as director of the Whitney Museum of American Art (1991-1998). Ross’s last directorship was at the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art, where he continued to build the collection, acquiring works by Ellsworth Kelly, Robert Rauschenberg, René Magritte, Piet Mondrian, as well as Marcel Duchamp’s iconic “Fountain” (1917/1964). Ross is also the Co-Founder and President of the Artists’ Pension Trust (a pioneering financial planning program for working artists), has lectured at various universities across the country, and has served as juror and commissioner at a broad range of international shows and exhibitions. 

He earned a Bachelor of Science from Syracuse University’s Newhouse School of Communications but states that he learned “Nothing in school. Everything I know comes from working with artists. They have influenced what I see, what I read, and how I think.”  

Learn more about Inter-Actions: a joint exhibition at CREATE Council on the Arts (Catskill) and Hudson Hall (Hudson) to celebrating Douglas Davis’s nearly lost work here.

Hudson Hall’s programs are made possible with support from the New York State Council on the Arts with the support of the Governor and the New York State Legislature.